Skip to main content

Marco Fusi

Wednesday 8 November 2023, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
open from 5:30pm
Andrew Greenwald - A Bridge Between Spaces, for solo violin (world premiere)
Yu Kuwabara - Bai and Darani, for solo violin (UK premiere)
Evan Johnson - dust book, chapters 2-3 (UK premiere)
Kristine Tjøgersen - Avian Chatters, for solo violin (UK premiere)
Salvatore Sciarrino - Sei capricci per violino
Resonating through a multitude of strings, the singing of humans and animals is heard. The shapes of their singing is ritual, celebrating the periphery of sounds, the minutiae that are not heard, unless listened to.
This concert, opening with a world premiere by Andrew Greenwald, features composers coming from varied backgrounds and aesthetics. We find Kristine Tjøgersen building and exploring a "prepared violin", and Yu Kuwabara questioning how the European scene understands her Japanese identity. At the centre of the concert the complex and minimalistic dust book by Evan Johnson offers an intricate experience of music on the edge of silence. The programme ends with Salvatore Sciarrino's Sei capricci per violino
Marco Fusi is a violinist/violist, a researcher in music performance, and a passionate advocate for the music of our time. After his Masters in Violin and Composition at the Conservatory of Milan, Marco received his PhD from the University of Antwerp / docARTES program with a dissertation on the performance practice of Giacinto Scelsi’s works for string instruments. He is currently Professor of Violin at the Conservatory of Alessandria and Research Fellow at the Orpheus Instituut of Gent.