University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

Sacconi Quartet and Friends

Ben Hancox (violin) Hannah Dawson (violin) Robin Ashwell (viola) Simon Rowland-Jones (viola)
Cara Berridge (cello) David Waterman (cello)

The Sacconi Quartet are joined by two of this country’s finest chamber musicians – violist Simon Rowland-Jones (Chilingirian Quartet) and cellist David Waterman (Endellion Quartet) – in a glorious programme of string music. Beginning with Strauss’ sumptuous Sextet from his opera Capriccio, and culminating in Brahms’ ever popular B flat Sextet,
the programme also features a first for Leeds – the northern premiere of Simon Rowland-Jones’ second string quintet, written for the Sacconis last year and delighting audiences wherever it is performed.

The award-winning Sacconi Quartet is recognised for its unanimous and compelling ensemble, consistently communicating with a fresh and imaginative approach. Formed in 2001, its four founder members continue to demonstrate a shared
passion for string quartet repertoire, infectiously reaching out to audiences with their energy and enthusiasm. The Quartet have enjoyed a highly successful international career, performing regularly throughout Europe, at London’s major venues, in recordings and on radio broadcasts.

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall
Tickets: £20
£18 (advance saver – available until 10 October)
FREE – Students and Under 16s

This concert has been sponsored by FUAM through the generous assistance of Professor Anthony Ogus.


© Copyright Leeds 2020