University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

Xuefei Yang

Johann Sebastian Bach – Lute Suite BWV1006a
Niccolò Paganini – Sonata
Xu Changjun (arr. Xuefei Yang) – Sword Dance
Villa Lobos – 3 Choros
Antonio Carlos Jobim – Modinha, Luiza (arr. Raphael Rabello), A Felicidade (arr. Roland Dyens)
Dilermando Reis – Uma Valsa e Dos Amores, Eterna Saudade, Xodo de Baina
Marco Pereira – new work (UK premiere)
Garoto – Gente Humilde, Lamentos do Morro

Xuefei Yang is acclaimed as one of the world’s finest classical guitarists.  Xuefei was the first-ever guitarist in China to enter a music school, & became the first internationally recognised Chinese guitarist on the world stage. Fei is one of the few guitarists whose artistry connect with audiences far beyond the guitar fraternity. Her international success has led her to be invited to play in more than 50 countries at numerous prestigious venues, and is frequently invited to play with the world’s leading orchestras. Fei has made many acclaimed recordings for major labels. Her first received a gold disc & her second was selected as ‘Editor’s Choice’ in Gramophone magazine. The UK classical music magazine, Classic FM, named Xuefei as one of the 100 top classical musicians of our time.

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall

Tickets: £15
£13 (advance saver – available until 27 April)
Free – students and under 16s

© Copyright Leeds 2018