University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

Schubert Song Series I

Nika Gorič (soprano) James Newby (baritone) Joseph Middleton (piano)

Programme to include songs and duets by Schubert in settings from Goethe’s Wilhelm Meister

In association with the Kathleen Ferrier Awards and YCAT and In partnership with Leeds Lieder

Two of the finest British-trained young singers open our Schubert series. James Newby, prizewinner in the Kathleen Ferrier Awards and Wigmore Hall International Song Competition makes a welcome return to Leeds Lieder following his outstanding recital for BBC Radio 3 in our Mahler series last season. He is joined by Nika Gorič whose recent performances have taken her to the Salzburg Young Singers Programme, Verbier Festival, Wigmore Hall and Vienna Musikverein. She has recently been selected as a YCAT artist. They will perform solos and duets from that inspired partnership: Goethe and Schubert.

6:30pm: Pre-concert talk by Dr Clive McClelland

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, University of Leeds

Tickets: £20  |  £18 (advance saver – available until 29 September)  |  Free – students and under 16s


PROGRAMME: A Soprano and Baritone Schubertiade

from Wilhelm Meisters Lehrjahre

Der Sänger D149 JN

Mignon Lieder

  1. Nur wer die Sehnsucht kennt D877 NG/JN duet
  2. Heiss mich nicht reden D877/2 NG
  3. So lasst mich scheinen D877/3 NG
  4. Kennst du das Land D321 NG

Gesänge des Harfners

  1. Wer sich der Einsamkeit ergibt D478/1 JN
  2. Wer nie sein Brot mit Tränen ass D478/2 JN
  3. An die Türen will ich Schleichen D478/3 JN

from Faust

Gretchen Lieder

  1. Gretchen am Spinnrade NG
  2. Gretchens bitte NG
  3. Der König in Thule NG

A Goethe-Schubert timeline


  1. Nähe des Geliebten D162 JN
  2. Rastlose Liebe D138 JN
  3. Wandrers Nachtlied I D224 NG
  4. Erster Verlust D226 NG
  5. Erlkönig D328 JN

1816 An Schwager Kronos D369 JN

1817 Ganymed D544 NG


  1. Versunken D715 NG
  2. Geheimes D719 JN
  3. Suleika I D720 NG
  4. Suleika II D717 NG


  1. Der Musensohn D764 JN
  2. An die Entfernte D765 JN
  3. Am Flusse D766 JN
  4. Wilkommen und Abschied D767 JN
  5. Wandrers Nachtlied II D768 JN

© Copyright Leeds 2018