University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

Red Priest: The Baroque Bohemians – Gypsy Fever from Campsite to Court

Piers Adams (recorders) Adam Summerhayes (violin) Angela East (cello) David Wright (harpsichord)

Heinrich Biber – Sonata no 1 in A major
André Campra – La Bohémienne (from Les Fêtes Vénitiennes)
William Byrd – Gypsies Round
Richard Nicholson – The Jews Dance
Anon. / Adam Summerhayes – Slow Road to Uhrovska
Georg Phillip Telemann – Largo and Presto (from Concerto in E minor TWV 52)
Georg Frederick Handel – Lascia Ch’Io Czadas


Anon / Adam Summerhayes – Sweet Uhrovska
Marchin Mielczewski – Canzona
Georg Frederick Handel – Aria and Passacaglia
Antonio Vivaldi – The Gypsy and the Priest (after Concerto in A minor RV356)

The world-famous baroque quartet led by ‘superhuman’ recorder player Piers Adams and the devilish fiddler, Adam Summerhayes, transform into a wild ‘baroque gypsy’ band. They re-live the extraordinary virtuosity of early Bohemian Baroque masters, explore melodies from a 1730 Slovakian fiddler’s tune-book, revel in the gypsy-influenced music of Telemann, and re-imagine music by Handel and the original Red Priest, Antonio Vivaldi – all in their own inimitable, high-octane style. Positively volcanic!

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, School of Music, University of Leeds

Tickets: £15 – advance
£17 – on the door
Free – students and under 16s

© Copyright Leeds 2019