University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

Ian Pace

Ian Pace – Clothcomposers (world premiere)
Marc Yeats – cold kitchen hill (world premiere)
Alexander Scriabin – Sonata No. 7 for piano , op 64, “White Mass”
Michael Spencer – per me si va nella città dolente
Franz Liszt – Après une lecture de Dante: Fantasia quasi una Sonata

Ian Pace is a pianist of long-established reputation, specialising in the farthest reaches of musical modernism and transcendental virtuosity, as well as a writer and musicologist focusing on issues of performance, music and society and the avant-garde. He was born in Hartlepool, England in 1968, and studied at Chetham’s School of Music, The Queen’s College, Oxford and, as a Fulbright Scholar, at the Juilliard School in New York. His main teacher, and a major influence upon his work, was the Hungarian pianist György Sándor, a student of Bartók.

Tickets: £8 – advance | £10 – on the door | Free – students and under 16s
Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall

6:15-7pm – Pre-concert Talk with Ian Pace and Mic Spencer
Lecture Theatre 1, Admission Free

© Copyright Leeds 2020