University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

Daniel Herscovitch

Johann Sebastian Bach – Canon and Fugue from The Art of Fugue
Robert Schumann – Four Fugues Op.72
Paul Hindemith – Ludus Tonalis

This program highlights Paul Hindemith’s rarely heard magnum opus Ludus Tonalis, composed in 1942. This work, a modern equivalent to Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier, consists of 12 fugues, separated by interludes and framed by a prelude and postlude. To place this 50 minute work in its historical context of German contrapuntal composition, it will be preceded by a canon and fugue from Bach’s final work The Art of Fugue, and Schumann’s Four Fugues Op.72.

Daniel Herscovitch studied with Alexander Sverjensky in Sydney and with Rosl Schmid in Munich. While living in Germany he performed at major European festivals, as well as touring Australia.

Since settling in Sydney he travels regularly to the USA and Europe for performances and masterclasses, and has toured New Zealand as well as visiting Indonesia annually. His repertoire includes works from four continents and five centuries, several of which he commissioned and premiered. His recordings, covering repertoire from the 17th to the 21st centuries, have been released on ABC Classics, Wirripang, Tall Poppies, CSM, Continuum and Toccata Classics labels.

In 2017 he toured the USA performing Bach’s final work The Art of Fugue, which he later also performed throughout Australia. Last year he toured Europe as well as performing in Asia and Australia. He is currently Associate Professor of Piano at the University of Sydney Conservatorium of Music.

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, School of Music, University of Leeds 

Tickets: £5 – advance
£7 – on the door
Free – students and under 16s

© Copyright Leeds 2019