University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

Alessandro Fisher and Ashok Gupta

Alessandro Fisher (tenor) Ashok Gupta (piano)

Michael Head – Over the rim of the Moon

A selection of Franz Schubert Lieder –
Der Schiffer
Schwanengesang (D744)
Die Forelle
Der Fischer

Ernest Chausson – Serenade Italienne

Gabriel Faure – Barcarolle

Johannes Brahms – Meerfahrt

Giacomo Meyerbeer – “Mina”

Reynaldo Hahn – ‘Venezia’

A graduate of London’s Guildhall School of Music and Drama, Alessandro Fisher won joint first prize at the 2016 Kathleen Ferrier Awards. His pianist at the competition, Ashok Gupta, won the Accompanists’ Prize, and The Times described him as ‘thoughtful and sensitive’.

Also a BBC New Generation Artist 2018-2020, Alessandro’s concert highlights include An Italian Songbook at the Oxford Lieder Festival 2018, Britten’s War Requiem in Lincoln Cathedral, BBC Radio 3’s recent Big Chamber Day at Saffron Hall, and recitals at London’s Wigmore Hall and Dublin’s Hugh Lane Gallery.

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, School of Music, University of Leeds

Admission Free

© Copyright Leeds 2019