University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

A4 Brass Quartet: From Bach to Bates

Jamie Smith (cornet/flugelhorn) Jonathan Bates (tenor horn) Michael Cavanagh (baritone horn) Chris Robertson (euphonium)

Jonathan Bates – Toccata
Leonard Bernstein arr. Daniel Thomas – Overture to Candide
Johann Sebastian Bach arr. Chris Robertson – Little Fugue in G Minor
Percy Grainger arr. Jonathan Bates – Molly on the Shore
Thomas Doss – Moskito
Antonio Vivaldi arr. Jonathan Bates – Finale from Violin Concerto
Andy Wareham – The Code
Anton Bruckner arr. Chris Robertson – Locus Iste
Jean-Baptiste Arban arr. Chris Robertson – Carnival of Venice
Jonathan Bates – Mists of the Mountains

A4 Brass Quartet comprises of principal players from some of the UK’s top brass bands, including Brighouse & Rastrick and Foden’s. With “technical virtuosity in abundance” (Brass Band World), these four astonishing musicians come together to perform both lyrical and high-octane works, forming a distinctive and new take on chamber music.

The Quartet has a unique blend of instruments creating an exclusive sound that stands out from the standard brass quartet. With this unusual instrumentation, A4 Brass has actively developed their repertoire, commissioning new music, and composing and arranging music themselves.

Formed in 2013 at the Royal Northern College of Music, the Quartet has performed widely throughout the UK appearing at major venues and festivals including Wigmore Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Bridgewater Hall, Cadogan Hall, Purcell Room, St. Margaret’s Church Westminster Abbey (for Park Lane Group), Lake District Summer Music, Northern Aldborough and King’s Lynn Festivals.

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall
Admission Free

© Copyright Leeds 2019