University of Leeds International Concert Series

Like us on Facebook Concert Series on SoundCloud Like us on Facebook

A Breath in Time

Jonathan Tobutt (oboe) with Meiningen Ensemble: David Milsom (violin) Rebecca Smith (viola) George Kennaway (cello)

Arnold Cooke – Quartet for oboe and strings (1949)
Alan Richardson – Quartet for oboe and string trio (1974) (First known public performance)
Gordon Jacob – Quartet for oboe and strings (1938)

British twentieth century music for oboe and string trio.

Much of the twentieth century canon of British oboe music is attributable to the impact and influence of the oboist Léon Goossens. Many of these works from the1960s, especially the chamber scores and their association with Léon, became regarded as old-fashioned by a new generation of players who, in stimulating a direction to reflect the progress of contemporary musical culture, effectively relegated a significant amount of the oboe repertoire to peripheral status.

Jonathan and the Meiningen Ensemble perform two works written for Léon Goossens as well as introducing Alan Richardson’s evocative work written for his partner, the oboist Janet Craxton.

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall
Admission Free

© Copyright Leeds 2020